about the project

Skill-Up addresses the needs of companies seeking to develop new skills for their employees (current or future) in order to meet the new economic challenges they face. We enter into a contractual commitment with companies on the basis of their skill specifications, and coordinate a training plan with our network of training providers, whether they be public training institutions or private training providers.

The idea of the Skill-Up Fribourg was inspired by the Biofactory Competence Center, which successfully applies a training model for biotech operators. Their model is perfectly transferable to other disruptive sectors, particularly those affected by the digital revolution. The aim is to provide workers with the new skills required by digitisation, automation and the evolution of organisational processes within companies. This enables workers to be (re)qualified in a very short period of time, and fit the specific company needs.

3 Steps to Upskilling

IDENTIFY SKILL NEEDS

We work closely with companies in order to isolate their specific skill needs by using an established definition framework, out of which we create effective, tailor-made skill development programs.

FIND TRAINING PARTNERS

Based on the companies’ needs, we tap into our vast network of skill providers and identify the perfect training partner. These could come from public academic institutions or from private organisations.

PROVIDE CUSTOM UPSKILLING

Our trainers provide a customised training program, consisting of both theory and practice, equipping the candidates with exactly the skills they need to be a productive employee in the modern workforce.

TECHNOLOGY TOOLS

The SkillUP project will use 2 interconnected technology tools that will support the UpSkilling process:

Skill Radar

This project involves the development of a technology platform for identifying emerging shifts and trends in the labour market, driven by transformations in technology and demographics.

Such a platform would utilize data from a variety of global and local sources and ingest them in an automated fashion. This information would then be processed using the latest advancements in Artificial Intelligence that would allow policy makers, trade associations and companies to identify ‘weak signals’ and prepare mitigation strategies.

The idea would be to develop a Skill Radar that focuses on the needs of Fribourg, aligned with the economic sectors that drive employment in the canton. A key challenge is to map the various skills and competency frameworks used by various public and private actors in order to harmonize them with the ontology and taxonomy used currently in Switzerland by the Swiss Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training, the Swiss Federal Statistical Office, etc.

A few notable efforts in the space are being carried out by data rich companies such as LinkedIn in collaboration with inter-governmental organizations such as the ILO, OECD, EU etc. In the Swiss context, several Swiss job portals such as jobup, ictjobs, jobscout24 etc contain vast crawlable data in addition to data from the Swiss Federal Statistical Office etc. Academic research is underway in this area with UZH conducting a NRP funded effort to develop a Swiss Job Market Monitor.

Benefits

The Skill Radar once developed will provide all stakeholders in Fribourg an invaluable tool to understand how emerging trends in the Global and regional labour market will impact them and develop mitigation strategies. Such strategies would typically involve designing customized skill development interventions utilizing the Skill Bridge.

Skill Bridge

This project would involve the development technology platform that would provide trade associations and individual companies a tool to define new skills profiles, according to their needs and the trends found in the Skill Radar.

There are efforts underway at a Global level to develop similar tools such as the Career Explorer of LinkedIn. This tool is designed for use by employees looking to make career transitions. We recommend the development of a similar tool for use by potential employers and/or cantonal authorities responsible for the reinsertion of the unemployed.

Designing New Profiles

Such a platform would allow user to select existing occupational profiles as defined by SEFRI/SFIVET, along with the skills and competencies required for each of them. The users can then adapt these profiles to their specific needs by adding additional skills and competencies and thereby defining new occupational profiles or variants of existing profiles.

Designing skill transitions or career pathways

Once a desired occupational profile is defined, the platform would support the user to define the optimal skilling intervention for a given employee or occupational profile to be able to transition to this new profile. Transitions are an important area of research and current efforts would build on rich data sets already present.

Identifying Providers

Once a skilling intervention is designed the platform will provide a method for users to identify suitable providers in the local ecosystem and engage them in the delivery process. This activity would ideally interface with the Smart Learning Hub that is being conceived as a marketplace to facilitate such discovery.

Monitoring & Evaluation

Finally, the platform will provide a method for planned interventions to be monitored using advanced analytics. Notifications would keep all stakeholders involved updated on the progress and present the results of intermediate and final evaluations.

Benefits

A tool of this nature would be a potent value addition to current efforts at developing the human potential of the state of Fribourg while enhancing its competitiveness and attractiveness as an investment destination.

TOP

À propos de ce projet

Skill-Up répond aux besoins des entreprises qui cherchent à développer de nouvelles compétences pour leurs salariés (actuels ou futurs) afin de répondre aux nouveaux défis économiques auxquels elles sont confrontées. Nous prenons un engagement contractuel avec les entreprises sur la base de leur cahier des charges, et coordonnons un plan de formation avec notre réseau de prestataires de formation, qu'il s'agisse d'établissements de formation publics ou de prestataires de formation privés.

L'idée du Skill-Up Fribourg a été inspirée par le Centre de Compétences Biofactory, qui applique avec succès un modèle de formation pour les opérateurs de biotechnologie. Leur modèle est parfaitement transposable à d'autres secteurs disruptifs, notamment ceux touchés par la révolution numérique. L'objectif est de fournir aux travailleurs les nouvelles compétences requises par la numérisation, l'automatisation et l'évolution des processus organisationnels au sein des entreprises. Cela permet aux travailleurs d'être (re) qualifiés dans un laps de temps très court et de répondre aux besoins spécifiques de l'entreprise.

3 étapes vers l'Upskilling

IDENTIFIER LES BESOINS EN COMPÉTENCES

Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec les entreprises afin d'isoler leurs besoins de compétences spécifiques en utilisant un cadre de définition établi, à partir duquel nous créons des programmes de développement des compétences efficaces et sur mesure.

TROUVEZ DES PARTENAIRES DE FORMATION

En nous basant sur les besoins des entreprises, nous exploitons notre vaste réseau de fournisseurs de compétences et identifions le partenaire de formation idéal. Ceux-ci peuvent provenir d'établissements universitaires publics ou d'organisations privées.

FOURNIR UN UPSKILLING PERSONNALISÉ

Nos formateurs proposent un programme de formation personnalisé, composé à la fois de théorie et de pratique, fournissant aux candidats exactement les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour être un employé productif dans la main-d'œuvre moderne.

OUTILS TECHNOLOGIQUES

Le projet SkillUP utilisera 2 outils technologiques interconnectés qui soutiendront le processus UpSkilling:

Skill Radar

Ce projet comprend le développement d'une plate-forme technologique pour identifier les changements et les tendances émergents sur le marché du travail, motivés par les transformations technologiques et démographiques.

Une telle plate-forme utiliserait des données provenant de diverses sources mondiales et locales et les ingérerait de manière automatisée. Ces informations seraient ensuite traitées à l'aide des dernières avancées en matière d'intelligence artificielle qui permettraient aux décideurs politiques, aux associations professionnelles et aux entreprises d'identifier les «signaux faibles» et de préparer des stratégies d'atténuation.

L'idée serait de développer un Skill Radar centré sur les besoins de Fribourg, aligné sur les secteurs économiques porteurs d'emploi dans le canton. Un défi majeur consiste à cartographier les différents référentiels de compétences et de compétences utilisés par différents acteurs publics et privés afin de les harmoniser avec l'ontologie et la taxonomie actuellement utilisées en Suisse par l'Institut fédéral suisse de la formation et de la formation professionnelles, l'Office fédéral de la statistique, etc.

Quelques efforts notables dans ce domaine sont menés par des entreprises riches en données telles que LinkedIn en collaboration avec des organisations intergouvernementales telles que l'ILO, l'OECD, l'UE, etc. Dans le contexte suisse, plusieurs portails d'emploi suisses tels que jobup, ictjobs, jobscout24, etc. contiennent de vastes données explorables en plus des données de l'Office fédéral de la statistique, etc. Des recherches universitaires sont en cours dans ce domaine, l'UZH menant un effort financé par le PNR pour développer un moniteur du marché de l'emploi suisse.

Avantages

Le Skill Radar, une fois développé, fournira à toutes les parties prenantes à Fribourg un outil précieux pour comprendre l'impact des tendances émergentes sur le marché du travail mondial et régional et développer des stratégies d'atténuation. De telles stratégies impliquent généralement la conception des interventions de développement des compétences personnalisées utilisant le Skill Bridge.

Skill Bridge

Ce projet impliquerait la plateforme technologique de développement qui fournirait aux associations professionnelles et aux entreprises individuelles un outil pour définir de nouveaux profils de compétences, en fonction de leurs besoins et des tendances relevées dans le Skill Radar.

Des efforts sont en cours au niveau mondial pour développer des outils similaires tels que Career Explorer de LinkedIn. Cet outil est conçu pour être utilisé par les employés qui souhaitent effectuer des transitions de carrière. Nous recommandons le développement d'un outil similaire à l'usage des employeurs potentiels et / ou des autorités cantonales chargées de la réinsertion des chômeurs.

Conception de nouveaux profils

Une telle plateforme permettrait à l'utilisateur de sélectionner les profils professionnels existants tels que définis par le SEFRI / SFIVET, ainsi que les aptitudes et compétences requises pour chacun d'entre eux. Les utilisateurs peuvent ensuite adapter ces profils à leurs besoins spécifiques en ajoutant des aptitudes et compétences supplémentaires et en définissant ainsi de nouveaux profils professionnels ou des variantes de profils existants.

Concevoir des transitions de compétences ou des cheminements de carrière

Une fois le profil professionnel souhaité défini, la plateforme aiderait l'utilisateur à définir l'intervention de compétences optimale pour un employé ou un profil professionnel donné afin de pouvoir passer à ce nouveau profil. Les transitions sont un domaine de recherche important et les efforts actuels s'appuieraient sur les riches ensembles de données déjà présents.

Identification des fournisseurs

Une fois qu'une intervention de qualification est conçue, la plate-forme fournira une méthode permettant aux utilisateurs d'identifier les fournisseurs appropriés dans l'écosystème local et de les impliquer dans le processus de livraison. Cette activité serait idéalement en interface avec le Smart Learning Hub qui est conçu comme un marché pour faciliter une telle découverte.

Suivi et évaluation

Enfin, la plateforme fournira une méthode de suivi des interventions planifiées à l'aide d'analyses avancées. Les notifications tiendraient toutes les parties prenantes concernées au courant des progrès et présenteraient les résultats des évaluations intermédiaires et finales.

Avantages

Un outil de cette nature constituerait une puissante valeur ajoutée aux efforts actuels de développement du potentiel humain de l'Etat de Fribourg tout en renforçant sa compétitivité et son attractivité en tant que destination d'investissement.

HAUT